Tuesday, January 15, 2008

Literary Awards Announced

While we were digging out from the snow the American Library Association was announcing the 2008 award winners for youth literature. Here is a run down of the winners:

Newbery Medal
John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature.
Winner: Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village, written by Laura Amy Schlitz
Honor books: Elijah of Buxton, by Christopher Paul Curtis, The Wednesday Wars, by Gary D. Schmidt, and Feathers, by Jacqueline Woodson.

Caldecott Medal
Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children.
Winner: The Invention of Hugo Cabret, illustrated by Brian Selznick.
Honor books: Henry's Freedom Box: A True Story from the Underground Railroad, illustrated by Kadir Nelson, written by Ellen Levine, First the Egg, illustrated and written by Laura Vaccaro Seeger, The Wall: Growing Up Behind the Iron Curtain, illustrated and written by Peter Sís, and Knuffle Bunny Too: A Case of Mistaken Identity, illustrated and written by Mo Willems.

Printz Award
Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults.
Winner: The White Darkness, by Geraldine McCaughrean.
Honor Books: Dreamquake: Book Two of the Dreamhunter Duet, by Elizabeth Knox, One Whole and Perfect Day, by Judith Clarke, Repossessed, by A. M. Jenkins (on order), and Your Own, Sylvia: A Verse Portrait of Sylvia Plath, by Stephanie Hemphill (on order).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.